Medicalia.org

by Internet Medical Society

This article was adapted from a lecture presented at the 2014 American Academy of Family Physicians Assembly held in Washington, DC, in October. 

Why Did You Go to Medical School?

I'm a family physician born into a family of physicians. My parents warned me not to pursue medicine. So I went to medical school. Ten years later, I'm unhappy with the direction of my profession (and I'm not the only one). Then I get this crazy idea: What if I ask for help? Not from the profession that wounded me. Just from random people on the street. So I hold a town meeting and ask patients to help me—design an ideal medical clinic. I promise to do whatever they want as long as it's basically legal. That's going out on a limb.

I'm a go-out-on-a-limb kind of doctor. In med school I protest the dog labs, and I'm sent to the office of the Dean—who diagnoses me with "Bambi Syndrome." In residency, I'm caught giving patients recipes for kale salad. I'm sent to the office, reprimanded for not getting approval from the patient education committee. I'm 46 and I'm still handing out unapproved kale salad recipes—now I'm taking on physician suicide.

My therapist calls me the "Dr Kevorkian of Medical Taboos." Before my wedding, my dad actually made my husband promise to keep me out of jail. "Always pushing the limits," Mom says, "always going out on a limb." Today I invite you to join me.